The Internet reaches almost everywhere and contains massive source of information. How much information is accessible to the public? From the perspective of accessibility, the Internet can be divided into three layers, namely, Surface Web, Deep Web and Dark Web.

Dark Web

The Internet reaches almost everywhere and contains massive source of information. How much information is accessible to the public? From the perspective of accessibility, the Internet can be divided into three layers, namely, Surface Web, Deep Web and Dark Web.

I. Surface Web

Surface Web is the portion of website and platform that facing the general public, such as news media, online shop, social platform. Their web links are searchable with standard web search engines (e.g. Google, Yahoo). The Surface Web only consists of 4% of the information that is on the Internet.

II. Deep Web

The contents on Deep web, like the company Intranet, dialogues of instant messengers, are not searchable by standard search engines. Deep Web accounts for about 90% of the information that is on the Internet. Information on Deep Web usually requires a password or other authentication to access, e.g. medical report, internal government document, commercial information, and pay-walled services such as online magazine and newspaper.

III. Dark Web (or Dark Net / Darknet)

Dark Web can only be accessible by specific software, authorisation or configurations. Most of the Dark Web users use the Onion Router (Tor), follow by Invisible Internet Project (I2P) and Freenet. The design of Dark Web allows the identities of users stay anonymous, even among Dark Web users. Information in Dark Web makes up about 6% of the Internet. The privacy and anonymity of the Dark Web are being exploited by criminals for selling drugs, weapons, child pornography, credit card, personal information, etc.

Exploring Dark Web

Tor

In the mid-1990s, staff of the United States Naval Research Laboratory considered the lack of security in online communication might cause loopholes for hackers and jeopardize the military security, so they developed Tor. The core principle of Tor is encrypting the messages in several layers. Each node in Tor adds a layer of encryption, nested like the layers of an onion. Tor websites use the domain “.onion”, unlike the common one like “.com”, “.hk”, “.org”. Visitors need to use dedicated software to access Tor sites through specific nodes.

Dark Web Abuse

Tor’s intended use is to protect the privacy of netizens, as well as their freedom of speech by keeping away from the government monitoring. However, privacy of the Dark Web is exploited by criminals for illegal activities, such as to buy and sell drugs, weapons, counterfeit currency, forged identity documents, personal information, child pornography, and even contract killing. Virtual asset transactions are often involved, which make it more difficult to investigate.

Among Dark Web market platforms, Silk Road is considered to be the most notorious marketplace that offer buying and selling of drugs. It was active in early 2011 and visited by over 100,000 users. Following continuous enforcement operations by FBI since 2013, the platform founder was being arrested and sentenced of life imprisonment for distributing narcotics, money laundering and other offences. The website has been shut down.

The world’s then-largest illegal marketplace with over 500,000 users on the Dark Net, “Dark Market”, was cracked down by Europol and international police forces in January 2021. At the time, the marketplace’s operator was arrested and the site’s servers were seized. Another enforcement operation, “DarkHunTOR”, was carried out in October 2021, in which 150 alleged Dark Net drug traffickers or criminals were arrested, together with over 31 million USD worth cash and virtual assets were frozen. Large amount of drugs and weapons were seized.

Risk of using Dark Web

The activities occur in Dark web is not beyond the law. Most of the ordinances in the real world also apply in the cyber world, including the Dark Web. Users conduct illegal transactions or activities on Dark Web may contravene relevant offences.

The number of scams and phishing traps on the Dark Web is overwhelming. Cybercriminals may set up fraudulent websites for a provision of illicit products and services at extremely low cost, then request to settle the payment in crypto assets and fled away upon receipt of payment. Besides, malware is fully alive all across the Dark Web. When the users download pirated or cracked software embedded with malicious codes, their computer devices are under high risk of being hacked or attacked by hackers, and become botnets to carry out cyber-attack against other devices.

Conclusion: Dark Web Myths

No tool guarantees absolute anonymity and safety, with no exception for Tor. If Tor are used inappropriately, the users’ personal information or IP addresses may also be compromised. In conclusion, whatever you do online are leaving footprints. Therefore, do not conduct any illegal activities.

You may be interested in

In the digital age, teenagers have started to use the Internet since their childhood. Online content varies greatly. To what…

The concept of Metaverse originates from Snow Crash, a science fiction novel published in 1992 by an American writer, Neal…

NFT is a new form of virtual asset investment. Common NFT includes digital image, audio-visual file and video clip which…

The “HTTP 404” or “Not Found” page is a standard response message of HTTP status code, and it is also…

Deepfake (a portmanteau of “deep learning” and “fake”) refers to a technique using deep learning (an artificial intelligence Deepfake 0…

With the mature development of the mobile technology and cloud computing technology Digital Currency & Mobile Payment With the mature…

Cookie is a file stored in your computer or mobile, allowing the server to identify your device. What is Cookie?…

Many websites and mobile applications would collect your personal information and preference to provide more personalised experience and services, also…

In 2008, Satoshi Nakamoto published a paper on the Internet introducing a peer-to-peer electronic asset system, or Bitcoin, which used…

Misinformation refers to false information, which is deliberately created and spread to cause harm to individuals or the society. Such…

Internet of things (IoT) has been defined as a global infrastructure for the information society, enabling advanced services by interconnecting…

The term, Netiquette, has been mentioned as early as 1994 in the writing of Virginia Shea. Virginia Shea mentioned 10…

Cloud Computing What is cloud computing? Cloud computing is the delivery of server software and hardware resource (e.g. data access,…

Welcome to subscribe

Please read our “Privacy Policy” carefully before filling out the form. For enquiries, please email to [email protected]

Declaration
We, Cyber Defender, collect your personal information including name, gender, and contact information (e.g. telephone number(s) and email address) only for the latest information-sharing proposal

* Must declare

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Subscribe successfully.
Please check your email.

互聯網無遠弗屆,蘊藏著海量資訊。網上有多少資訊能被大眾接觸到?從資訊觸及性 來說,互聯網可分為表網、深網和暗網三個層次。

互聯網無遠弗屆,蘊藏著海量資訊。網上有多少資訊能被大眾接觸到?從資訊觸及性來說,互聯網可分為表網、深網和暗網三個層次。

I. 表網 (Surface Web,又稱「表層網絡」或「開放網絡」)

表網是大眾日常會到訪的網站和平台,如新聞媒體、網上商店、社交平台等。用戶使用一般搜尋器(例如Google、Yahoo等)便能找到有關連結。表網的數據佔互聯網的資訊大約4%。

II. 深網 (Deep Web)

深網的內容不能被一般搜尋器找到,例如公司內聯網、即時通訊軟件的對話等,它佔整個互聯網的資訊大約90%。深網的資訊大多需要密碼或身分驗證後才能接觸到,例如醫療報告、政府內部文件、公司商業資料、以及必須付費才能使用的服務,如線上雜誌和報紙等。

III. 暗網 (Dark Web 或 Dark Net)

暗網的內容只能透過特殊軟件、授權或通訊標準存取。暗網社群以洋蔥網絡 (The Onion Router,俗稱Tor) 最為活耀,其次是隱形網計劃(Invisible Internet Project (I2P))和自由網(Freenet),暗網的設計讓用戶身分高度隱密,暗網社群之間也不能互通,它佔整個互聯網的資訊大約6%。現時,不法分子利用暗網的隱密性和匿名性作犯罪活動,如販賣毒品、槍械、兒童色情物品、販賣信用咭資料和個人資料等。

解構

洋蔥網絡 (Tor) 說起

於1990年代中期,美國海軍研究實驗室的人員認為當時的互聯網通訊不夠保密,擔心黑客的截取通訊活動會影響軍事安全,因而開發洋蔥網絡 (Tor)。Tor的原理是把訊息作多層加密,在通過每一個多個節點(node)時才進行一層解密,多層加密訊息的結構猶如洋蔥形狀。Tor網站使用.onion作為頂層網域名(有別於一般使用的 .com、.hk、.org等),用戶需要透過特定的軟件訪問特殊的節點,才能瀏覽Tor網站。

暗網的濫用情況

建立暗網的原意是保障網民的私隱和言論自由,免受政府監控。然而,有大量不法分子利用暗網的隱蔽性進行非法活動,如買賣毒品、槍械、假鈔、假證件、個人資料、兒童色情物品,甚至買兇殺人等,並利用虛擬資產作交易以增加追查難度。

在眾多暗網黑市平台,「絲絡之路(Silk Road)」可謂最惡名昭著的毒品交易平台之一。該平台活躍於2011年初,曾有超過十萬人次光顧。經美國聯邦調查局 (FBI) 於2013年起連番打擊,平台創辦人最終以販毒和洗黑錢等罪名被判處終身監禁,該網站亦被關閉。

2021年1月,歐洲刑警組織聯同多國警方搗破一個名為當時最大,擁有逾50萬用戶的「Dark Market」暗網交易市場,並拘捕了經營者和檢獲多台伺服器。歐洲刑警組織再於同年10月,展開「DarkHunTOR」執法行動,連同多國警方拘捕150名涉嫌在暗網販毒等犯罪分子,凍結超過 3,100 萬美元現金和虛擬資產,並檢獲大量毒品和槍械。

使用暗網的風險

暗網的世界並非無法可依。大部分適用於現實世界的法例,均適用於互聯網世界,包括暗網在內。用戶如在暗網進行非法交易或活動,均可能觸犯相關法例。

暗網世界充斥詐騙和網絡釣魚陷阱。不法分子能以極低成本在暗網開設假網站,以提供非法產品或服務為餌,要求買家以加密資產作交易,並在收款後逃去無踪,令買方蒙受損失。此外,暗網內充滿惡意程式,如用戶從暗網下載內嵌惡意程式碼的盜版或破解軟件,其電腦裝置極可能會被黑客入侵或被攻擊,成為殭屍電腦並對其他裝置進行網絡攻擊。

結語:暗網的迷思

世上並沒有工具能保證絕對匿名和安全,使用Tor也並不例外。如用戶不適當使用Tor的功能,其個人資訊或IP 地址也可能會被洩漏。總而言之,我們在網上的活動總會留下足跡,因此不要心存僥倖進行違法活動。

你可能感興趣

在電腦世界中的Cookie是儲存在你的電腦或手機內的一個文件檔案,讓伺服器辨認你…

元宇宙概念源自美國小說家尼爾.史蒂芬森於1992年出版的科幻小說《潰雪》,當中…

深度學習和偽造組成的混合詞,指利深度學習(人工智能的一種技術)進行影像合成…

很多網站和流動應用程式均會收集你的個人資料和喜好,以提供更個人化的體驗和服…

物聯網就是通過互聯網把現實和虛擬世界的裝置及設備連接在一起,成為資訊社會裏的全球基礎設施,為人類提供先進服務...

物聯網就是通過互聯網把現實和虛擬世界的裝置及設備連接在一起,成為資訊社會裏…

本網進行過簡單測試,發現包括最新版本的蘋果iOS系統均會把不在通訊錄的本地發…

404

大家網上瀏覽時,都會見過「HTTP404」或「找不到」的版面。其實這是HTTP…

隨著流動科技及雲端運算技術日漸成熟,加上金融科技迅速發展,現在電子支付及流…

NFT是新興另類虛擬資產投資,常見的NFT包括數碼圖像、影音、及短片等等,並透…

於2008年,一位自稱中本聰(的人士在網絡上發表了一篇論文介紹一個點對點電子貨…

日常社交要講禮儀,網上社交亦有一套「網絡禮儀」。在社交媒體發達的年代,人人…

雲端運算指透過互聯網取用的伺服器軟件及硬件資源(例如資料存取、運算能力、網…

虛假資訊指為傷害個人或社會而故意製造的虛假信息。這些信息可能是完全虛構、部…

歡迎訂閱守網者

填寫表格前,請先細閱我們的《私隱政策》。如有查詢,請發電郵至[email protected]

同意聲明
閣下提供之個人資料(包括姓名、聯絡電話和電郵地址)將會用 於接受守網者的最新發展、活動及資訊。

* 必須填寫

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

閣下已成功訂閲
請檢查您的郵箱