The term, Netiquette, has been mentioned as early as 1994 in the writing of Virginia Shea. Virginia Shea mentioned 10 core rules, which are still applicable nowadays. Let’s us review the key points of the core rules.

The rules of etiquette are just as important on online social platform as they are in the daily life. With the robust development of social media, everybody can speak their mind via instant messaging software, email or discussion forum. However, it is common to cause misunderstanding in online communication for the absence of face expression or voice tone behind the uses of text, emoji or stickers. Besides, due to the anonymity and instantaneity on the Internet, some people’s online behavior may fail to meet the moral standards in the reality, making others feel offended or annoyed.

10 Core Rules of Netiquette

Remember the Human

When communicating on a screen, you may forget that you are interacting with other real people in the absence of face expression or voice tone. Even the correspondent is a stranger, you should keep respectful and empathetic manner to others. Remember, all words you would not say in face-to-face communication should not say in cyberspace. Additionally, almost every online conversation has been recorded and there is no way to completely remove them. Please re-think before you press “send” or “submit”.

Adhere to the same standards of behavior online that you follow in real life

The cyber world is not a virtual space not bound by law. Existing laws in the real world apply also in the cyber world, so one should follow the same moral standard online

Know where you are in cyberspace

Netiquette varies from domain to domain. Jokes that perfectly acceptable in family chat group may be considered inappropriate in your working group. When you enter a domain of cyberspace that’s new to you, take a look around. Get a sense of how the people who are already there act.

Respect other people's time and bandwidth

It takes time to read frivolous messages or emails. To avoid causing nuisance to others, think carefully before forwarding messages or emails. Do not assume others would read and reply to your messages immediately.

Make yourself look good online

You will be judged by the quality of your writing. Poor spelling and grammar, illogical writing will make you unwelcome in the cyberspace. Sensationalism or exaggeration can even lead to hatred. When you are not sure whether your writing is appropriate, remember “Silence is golden”.

Share expert knowledge

The Internet is a convergence place where information and knowledge are shared. Almost all knowledge can be obtained for no cost on the net. If everyone does his/her part, it will make the world a better place.

Help keep flame wars under control

There are always divergent views in online discussions on different topics, such as current affairs, politics and economics, sports. Remember, keep rational and respect others, share your views politely

Respect other people’s privacy

Just as you expect others to respect your privacy, so should you respect the privacy of others. You can start from the very basic, do not use other people’s electronic devices without their permission, or readily disclose or share others’ personal information.

Don’t abuse your power

Don’t take advantage of being a group or system administrators. With greater power comes greater responsibility.

Be forgiving of other people's mistakes

To err is human. If it was a minor error, such as typo, asking repeated questions, you may not need to say anything. If you do decide to inform someone of a mistake, preferably by private message or email rather than in the public.

Reference http://www.albion.com/netiquette/

You may be interested

Non-fungible token (NFT) NFT is a new form of virtual asset investment. Common NFT includes digital image, audio-visual file and…

The “HTTP 404” or “Not Found” page is a standard response message of HTTP status code, and it is also…

Deepfake (a portmanteau of “deep learning” and “fake”) refers to a technique using deep learning (an artificial intelligence Deepfake 0…

Cookie is a file stored in your computer or mobile, allowing the server to identify your device. What is Cookie?…

Many websites and mobile applications would collect your personal information and preference to provide more personalised experience and services, also…

Welcome to subscribe

Please read our “Privacy Policy” carefully before filling out the form. For enquiries, please email to [email protected]

Declaration
We, Cyber Defender, collect your personal information including name, gender, and contact information (e.g. telephone number(s) and email address) only for the latest information-sharing proposal

* Must declare

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Subscribe successfully.
Please check your email.

日常社交要講禮儀,網上社交亦有一套「網絡禮儀」。在社交媒體發達的年代,人人都

網絡禮儀

網絡禮儀(Netiquette)一詞早在1994年由學者維珍尼亞·佘的同名著作提及。該著作提及的十個規條,時至今日仍然適用。大家一起重溫規條重點吧!

日常社交要講禮儀,網上社交亦有一套「網絡禮儀」。在社交媒體發達的年代,人人都能透過即時通訊軟件、電郵和討論區溝通等暢所欲言。然而,網上的溝通多流於文字、表情符號或貼圖而缺乏表情或語氣,因此在網上溝通可能較容易產生誤會。同時,亦由於網絡的匿名性和即時性,有些人在網上世界的行為可能會超越了現實世界的道德標準,使他人感到冒犯或煩擾。

網絡禮儀十規條

以人為本

對著螢幕溝通,你看不到對方的表情和語氣,可能會忘記對方也是一個人。縱使對方是陌生人,你也應保持尊重和同理心。所有在面對面不會說的話,在網絡世界也不應該說。再者,網上世界幾乎所有的對話都有記錄和不能完全清除,發言前應再三思考。

把現實世界的行為標準放在網上

別以為網上是無法可依的虛擬世界。所有適用於現實世界的法律均適用於網上,因此在網上也應該遵守相同的道德標準。

知道自己身處網上的群組

每個群組和平台均有自己的功能和潛規則。你在家庭成員聊天群組發布的笑話很可能不適用於你的工作群組。當你加入新群組時,請先觀察一下其他人的言行。

不要浪費他人的時間和數據

在資訊泛濫的今天,我們每日總會花上時間處理不少無謂或事不關己的訊息或郵件。要避免對別人造成滋擾,請在轉發訊息或電郵前想清楚,也不要期望對方會即時閱讀你的訊息和給予回覆。

保持良好個人形象

你的發言會直接影響你的形象。文筆不通、邏輯混亂會使你在網絡上不受歡迎。嘩眾取寵、誇大其辭更會惹人生厭。如果不肯定你的發言是否恰當,請記住四字真言:沉默是金。

分享專家知識

互聯網是個聚沙成塔、共享資訊和知識的地方,而絕大部分的知識都可免費在網上得到。如果每個網民都能在網上分享一點知識,世界將會變得更美好。

保持理性討論

網上討論時事、政治經濟、體育等話題總有不同聲音,緊記保持理性和尊重討論,懂得禮貌發言。

尊重他人私隱

每個人都期望自己的私隱受尊重。這可以從最基本做起,例如不要在沒有對方允許下使用他們的電子裝置、不要隨意發放或分享其他人的個人資料。

不要濫用權力

假如你擁有群組或系統的版主或管理員的身分,請恰當使用。你的權力愈大,你的責任也愈大。

待人以寬

每個人總少不免會有犯小錯,例如打錯字、問重覆的問題。請包容一些無傷大雅的瑕疵。如果真的要指出錯處,請考慮以私人訊息或電郵提出,給對方留一點面子。

參考資料 http://www.albion.com/netiquette/

你可能感興趣

NFT是新興另類虛擬資產投資,常見的NFT包括數碼圖像、影音、及短片等等,並透過加密形存式放到區塊鏈。該NFT私密鑰匙的擁有人可以取得原本像素、原本大小的檔案,也算是擁有該作品。…

日常社交要講禮儀,網上社交亦有一套「網絡禮儀」。在社交媒體發達的年代,人人都…

於2008年,一位自稱中本聰的人士在網絡上發表了一篇論文介紹一…

深度學習和偽造組成的混合詞,指利深度學習(人工智能的一種技術)進行影像合成以偽造影像。隨著深度偽造的技術愈趨成熟…

隨著移動科技及雲端運算技術日漸成熟,加上金融科技迅速發展,現在電子支付…

歡迎訂閱守網者

填寫表格前,請先細閱我們的《私隱政策》。如有查詢,請發電郵至[email protected]

同意聲明
閣下提供之個人資料(包括姓名、聯絡電話和電郵地址)將會用 於接受守網者的最新發展、活動及資訊。

* 必須填寫

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

閣下已成功訂閲
請檢查您的郵箱