The Internet of Things is a system of mobile devices or household equipment

What is Internet of Things (IoT)?

The Internet of Things is a system of mobile devices or household equipment connected together by the Internet and is able to transfer and handle data and information in order to make command and take control over designated devices or equipment.  As long as the devices (such as the commonly used smart phones or tablets, and recently, even vehicles, light bulbs and refrigerators) are equipped with Internet functions, they are part of the IoT.

Risks of using the IoT

With the advancement of technology, the IoT has been developing rapidly that a shedload of new IoT devices are emerging.  An abundance of user data and huge cloud databases have naturally become targets for hackers to steal or attack.  However, different kinds of newly emerging IoT devices do not have a well-known operating system and structure like computers, nor do they have mature security software or security devices for all IoT devices.  Many IoT devices do not provide any security measures or protection advice when manufactured while some unnecessary functions (such as file transfer protocol and remote desktop protocol, etc.) have been enabled on the Internet.

In addition, users lack security awareness when using IoT devices, often ignore the importance of using a strong password just for convenience, and even use default passwords which gives chance to hackers.  When hackers have got your username and password of your IoT device, and your device is connected to your other devices such as routers, personal computers, mobile phones, and even digital door locks, with high-risk network functions enabled, hackers can intrude into your IoT devices and take over them, and intrude and gain access to other devices.  Hackers will then install malware into your devices.  Apart from loss of privacy or even money, your devices may become a member of the “Botnet” and an accomplice in attacking other computers.

IoT Security

Many IoT devices have default passwords.  Change the default password before using it.  It is better to use a complex combination of passwords.  If the device is equipped with two-factor authentication, e-certificate or biometric authentication, you should also consider using them

If some preset services are enabled on the device, such as FTP, TELNET, etc., turn these services off if not necessary

If the device has an activity log function, it is recommended to turn it on, and check the log from time to time to detect suspicious activities

Install antivirus software or cybersecurity software.  Update software and virus definitions regularly.  Install firewalls or system and network monitoring software or hardware devices if possible

Most IoT devices use mobile phone applications as remote interfaces.  For remote usage, IoT transmissions should be encrypted

You may be interested in

Fraudsters steal information through the Internet such as names Identity Theft Fraudsters steal information through the Internet such as names,…

refers to an attack in which. attacker monitors the communication between the sender and What is Man-in-the-middle Attack? A man-in-the-middle…

The Internet of Things is a system of mobile devices or household equipment What is Internet of Things (IoT)? The…

Ransomware is a malware that prevents or restricts users from accessing computer systems. Hackers will What is Ransomware? Ransomware is…

Welcome to subscribe

Please read our “Privacy Policy” carefully before filling out the form. For enquiries, please email to [email protected]

Declaration
We, Cyber Defender, collect your personal information including name, gender, and contact information (e.g. telephone number(s) and email address) only for the latest information-sharing proposal

* Must declare

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Subscribe successfully.
Please check your email.

利用互聯網將手提裝置或家居設備串連一起,並在互聯網中互相交換及處理數據和資料

什麼是物聯網?

利用互聯網將手提裝置或家居設備串連一起,並於互聯網互相交換及處理數據和資料,對指定裝置或設備作出指令及控制。例如大家普遍使用的智能手機和平板電腦,甚至是汽車、燈泡和雪櫃,只要配備互聯網功能的, 都是物聯網。

使用物聯網的風險

隨着現今科技進步,物聯網發展迅速,海量的物聯網裝置推陳出新,當中大量的用戶資料及龐大的雲端數據庫,自然成為黑客偷取或攻擊的對象。及形形色色的物聯網裝置不斷推出,既不像一般電腦有熟知的操作系統及結構,亦沒有已成熟且針對所有物聯網裝置的保安軟件或保安裝置。很多物聯網裝置於出廠時並沒有提供任何保安措施或保護建議,但於網絡上已開啟一些不必要的服務功能(如:檔案傳輸協定及遠端桌面協定等)。

另外用戶對使用物聯網裝置的保安意識不足,往往為求方便使用而忽略更改高強度密碼的重要性,甚至使用預設密碼令黑客有機可乘。當黑客掌握你物聯網裝置上的用戶名稱及密碼,而你的裝置亦與你其他裝置(如: 路由器、個人電腦、手提電話,甚至數碼門鎖)連繫着,加上已開啟高風險的網絡功能,令黑客除了入侵及接管了你的物聯網裝置外,進而可入侵你其他裝置及奪取權限。然後黑客會於設備安裝惡意程式, 除了你自己會因此而喪失私隱甚至金錢外,你的設備更有機會成為「殭屍網絡」其中一員,成為攻擊其他電腦的幫兇。

物聯網保安

很多物聯網裝置均設有預設密碼,使用前必須更改預設密碼,使用複雜組合的密碼更好。若裝置設有雙重認證、電子證書或生物特徵認證,亦應考慮使用。

若裝置上開啟了一些預設服務,例如FTP、TELNET等,如沒有必要使用,請關閉這些服務。

如裝置設有活動記錄功能,建議開啟,並不時翻看記錄以偵測可疑的活動。

必須安裝防毒軟件或網絡保安軟件,並定期更新軟件和病毒定義。另外,若能安裝防火牆或系統與網絡監察軟件或硬件裝置更佳。

大部份物聯網裝置採用手機應用程式作為遙控介面,當需要遙距使用時,應為物聯網設置加密傳輸。

你可能感興趣

不法分子在互聯網盜取他人資料,例如姓名、地址、出生日期、身分證號碼、電郵地址、 電話號碼 不法分子在互聯網盜取他人資料,例如姓名、地址、出生日期、身分證號碼、電郵地址、…

中間人攻擊指在網絡上傳送數據時,發送者與接受者之間存在的 什麼是「中間人攻擊」?…

進階持續性威脅是一種常見的網絡攻擊手法,針對特定組織或目標作精心策劃且多方面的入侵。 什麼是進階持續性威脅?…

利用互聯網將手提裝置或家居設備串連一起,並在互聯網中互相交換及處理數據和資料 什麼是物聯網?…

分散式阻斷服務攻擊是演變自傳統的阻斷服務攻擊。黑客利用網絡上多個被感染的電腦系統(即「殭屍網絡」), 甚麼是分散式阻斷服務攻擊?…

勒索軟件(Ransomware)是一種阻止或限制用戶使用電腦系統的惡意軟件。 甚麼是勒索軟件?…

歡迎訂閱守網者

填寫表格前,請先細閱我們的《私隱政策》。如有查詢,請發電郵至[email protected]

同意聲明
閣下提供之個人資料(包括姓名、聯絡電話和電郵地址)將會用 於接受守網者的最新發展、活動及資訊。

* 必須填寫

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Sign up for web hosting today!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

閣下已成功訂閲
請檢查您的郵箱